About Nevada Work Ready Communities

Employers across the country report that stacks of applications for only a handful of open positions often overwhelm them. Sifting through these applications is time-consuming and inefficient. You need a quick way to pinpoint individuals with essential, verifiable workplace skills. The ACT National Career Readiness Certificate (NCRC) is your solution. Whether your business is large or small, you will be able to attract, retain, and develop a workforce with the education and foundational skills to succeed in the 21st century by utilizing the National Career Readiness Certificate.

The Nevada Work Ready Communities (NvWRC) initiative provides Nevada with a framework to validate a skilled and work-ready workforce. Nevada is one of more than 25 states nationwide participating in the Certified Work Ready Communities (CWRC) initiative. Beginning with Clark County in 2017, participation in Nevada’s CWRC is voluntary and guided by key community leaders (local elected officials, economic development, business leaders, chambers, educators, and workforce development).

The common building blocks of the initiative include:

  • ACT WorkKeys® assessments: Standardized tests that measure an individual’s essential work readiness skills in applied mathematics, reading for information and locating information. According to decades of ACT research, these foundational skills are essential for a majority of today’s jobs.
  • ACT National Career Readiness Certificate: A national credential based on assessment results and issued at the bronze, silver, gold or platinum level to indicate career readiness.
  • ACT WorkKeys Curriculum: ACT KeyTrain® and ACT Career Ready 101 training tools to help individuals improve their “hard” and “soft” skill levels and to help teachers bring work readiness skills into the classroom.

A certified Work Ready Community means the local county has job candidates in the pipeline with high-demand skills assessed and documented by the National Career Readiness Certificate. It also shows that local employers care about hiring the best and brightest the region has to offer.


The ACT WorkKeys National Career Readiness Certificate (ACT WorkKeys NCRC®) is an assessment-based credential issued at four levels. The NCRC measures and certifies the essential work skills needed for success in jobs across industries and occupations. When you require or recommend the ACT WorkKeys NCRC from your applicants, you will tap into the most qualified labor pool in your area.

The credential is awarded in four levels and verifies skills proficiency in:

  • Problem solving
  • Critical thinking
  • Reading and using work-related text
  • Applying information from workplace documents to solve problems
  • Applying mathematical reasoning to work-related problems
  • Setting up and performing work-related mathematical calculations
  • Locating, synthesizing, and applying information that is presented graphically
  • Comparing, summarizing, and analyzing information presented in multiple related graphics


More than four million individuals hold an ACT WorkKeys NCRC, and that number increases every day. One of your job applicants may present you with their NCRC as a part of their application process.

Here are some key things you want to know about the credential:

  • On the front of the certificate you will see the level earned and a nine-digit registration number. If the individual has made their certificate publically available, you can verify the certificate by entering the registration number.
  • On the back of the certificate you will find the actual WorkKeys assessment scores earned and the skills verified for each of the assessments completed.
  • Since the levels build upon each other, you can see the full list of skills verified at each level.
  • The ACT WorkKeys NCRC is backed by ACT and validated by ACT research.


Individuals earn the NCRC by achieving qualifying scores on three WorkKeys assessments:

  • Applied Math
  • Graphic Literacy
  • Workplace Documents

Each assessment offers varying levels of difficulty. The levels build on each other, incorporating the skills assessed at the previous levels. For example, at Level 5, individuals need the skills from Levels 3, 4, and 5. The complexity increases as the quantity and/or density of the information increases. Assessments are web-based and take about one hour each. They are offered in both English and Spanish.

If you have earned an NCRC, you can obtain a copy of your certificate by calling 1-800-WorkKeys (1-800-967-5539) or going to www.myworkkeys.com.